• 1 Post By Noelle7206
    • 1 Post By TribalMethods
    • 2 Post By ldydrgn
    • 1 Post By Noelle7206
    • 2 Post By bcr_229
    • 2 Post By acephantom903

Thread: Bought 2 year supply of rats that are wayyy too big.

Snake Keeper
      is Overworked

I am:
      Tired

User Info Achievements / Awards Thanks / Tagging Info vBActivity Stats
      Last Visited
      09-10-2017 02:58 AM

Exclamation Bought 2 year supply of rats that are wayyy too big.

So I ****ed up royally... and bought a 2+ year supply of large rats that are way too big for my boa...

I have a 3 almost 4 year old purebred Costa Rican Boa. She's about 56" in length but not very girthy at all.

I've been feeding her medium rats for 1 1/2 years now since I purchased her. She's grown a great deal in that time on a feeding schedule of once every 14-21 days. I usually alternate between the two. However at her current size, the mediums I were feeding her seemed to be a very small meal.

I think the mediums I purchased were very much so on the small side. I got the mediums from Underground Reptiles. I purchased this latest batch of large from Perfect Prey.

I am not as much concerned about her getting huge as I am about her staying healthy. I really cannot afford to buy more rats. My hopes are that you will be able to advise me on how frequently I can feed her these gigantic rats to keep her from getting fat & dying prematurely. I usually only handle her once or twice a week, but I can handle her more in-between feeding if need be for her to get enough exercise on such a heavy diet.

Here is a photo of both the new large rats and her body at her widest point compared to a dollar bill:
      NOTE: The rat is still thawing and was squished flat in the packaging. So it may look a little wider than it is. I'll have to take another pic when it's thawed fully.

Snake Guru
      is probably underwater!

I am:
      Friendly