Dumb question....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dumb question....

What is the precise difference between, a hypo, a salmon , and a pastel....?
    I don't want to sound ignorant but i'm fairly new to boa community so you'll have to forgive me.

Re: Dumb question....

A salmon IS a hypo, but a hypo isn't necessarily a salmon. Hypomelanism is an actual genetic trait. A pastel boa is just selectively bred to have less black, but genetically speaking it is still just a normal boa.

John and Rich Ihle started to selectively breed hypomelanistic boas for pink coloration and they have been called salmons. Most of the blood now is so mixed it's probably hard to really know what you have, but certain lines of non-salmon strain hypos are around and are noticeably very different from the Ihle salmons. Larry will correct me if I'm wrong on any of my breeder history since he and Jeff Ronne are the encyclopedias on boa history around here.

Inferno Pastel belonging to an RTB Member --- notice the black on the tail

Hypo boa belonging to Jeff Gee

This is a super (homozygous) salmon of mine

Can you kind of see the difference? I may not have picked the best photos.
    Last edited by jhsulliv; 11-30-2009, 10:34 PM.

Comment

Thanks! the visuals of it all are much less distinct than other species i have worked with, thanks again for the info, familiarity will come to play soon enough i suppose!

Comment

hey thats my baby!

Comment

there appears to more red on the hypo, but the salmon looks cleaner. I have a hypo that came from a hypo-hypo pairing and a friend lead me to believe that he felt strongly that it was a probable super, but i guess you can t say until it's proven. are boa traits primairily recessive, dom, or co-dom?

Comment

also what causes the tan coloration? as opposed to the siver/grey? is it the left over pigment from hypo melanism?

Comment