Is my boa really a Hypo?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is my boa really a Hypo?

Hello, I'm fairly new to the whole snake scene. I started with a Ball Python and now I have 6 of them, a Kenyan Sand Boa, and a Red Tail Boa.
    I got the Red Tail from the local breeders where I get my Ball Pythons and their food/supplies. Someone left her there because they could no longer take care of her. I don't typically buy on impulse but I immediately fell in love with her. She's so beautiful and extremely sweet.
    They sexed her before I left the store but no one was really sure of what morph she is since they focus on BPs. I was told she might be a Hypo, a Jungle, a Paradigm... but I've looked up pictures and she doesn't look like any of those to me. I know for sure she's not a Normal though.
    She's kind of pale but also dark orange. She has black speckles throughout her back and a bright yellow belly. Her tail is darker orange but the markings aren't red. There are also faint green spots around her regular markings.
    I don't know if she has ever been bred and I don't plan on breeding anytime soon, not only because I don't have a male for her but also because I'd like to get more experienced at that with my Ball Pythons before I try to get into Red Tails. But I do want to know her morph so that I can correctly label her tub on the snake track.

She's not as light as she looks in those pictures but I didn't wanna mess around with the effects settings on my camera. Hopefully those are good enough for someone to help me out. Thanks in advance!

Re: Is my boa really a Hypo?

Yep, that's a hypo.
    sigpic

Comment

Really? Cool, thanks! If I may ask, is there something specifically that makes it easy to tell? Like, is it the markings or the color or both? I'm guessing the color but as I said, my knowledge of this species and its morphs is very limited.