This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I have a question???

I have a question about hets. How does one know that an animal is 100% het for Albino unless you breed that animal to confirm it. I see peaple all the time offering a yearling 100% het with paperwork for about the same price as normal BCI. If it was realy 100% het wouldn't they try and sell it for a little more maybe like $300 less than an albino.

Maybe I haven't read enouph, I know I don't know very much about morphs but I'm lerning cwm15.gif

Re:I have a question???

typically 100% hets go for $300 for females and $200 for males. I usually look around at kingsnake.com in the classifieds and at fuanaclassifieds.com for prices before I buy or sell anything to get an idea what things usually go for.

Comment

Hi Goob,

I will be honest. I am still learning some advanced things on morphs, etc.. I haven't found anyway to visually tell if it is really a 100%. Guess it really hindges on the seller if he knows what he is doing and if he is honest. I do know some people that got taken by 100% hets for albino balls. It took 2 years to find out he just had a normal ball.

I agree with Dumeril that they normally sell for more. it seems the market for snakes right now are not so great. I have seen some snakes sold for alot less then they were worth.

Hope that helped.
      Steve

Comment

Well that is the problem in a nutshell. Unless you know the breeder well, and are confident in his reputation, I would not buy a 100% het from anyone..

The selling of Hets/possible hets are the #1 scam in the reptile business. The problem with hets is, as you say Goob, you have to breed them to prove them.

I purchased my 100% hets directly from Pete Kahl. It was him, Jeff Ronne, or noone as far as I was concerned.. (This is not to say that there are not other reputable breeders of albinos, just my personal opinion)

Now that I have said all this, let me follow that up with this..