First snakes, far from first reptiles

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First snakes, far from first reptiles

Didnt see a introduction area so i figured id post some pics and introduce myself all at once. Names Joe, im a firefighter in CT. just turned 28. Ive had many reptiles (mostly iguanas) that were primarily rescues that i brought back to health and found forever homes for. I currently have 1 Iguana but he will be with me til one of us dies. Hes about 3 years old and 2.5 feet. Came from a Horrible situation as most rescues do. He was 2ft long living in a 30 gallon tank that hadn't been cleaned in who knows how long, eating iceburg lettuce and had no uv lighting.He was as close to death as they get. After lots of time and money at the vet and countless days off to nurse him back to health he made a full recovery. He is now happily residing in the enclosure i built for him at 5'x4'x2.5'

W
    ith that said i decided id like to dabble in the world of snakes. Found an opportunity to trade a 5x2x2 enclosure i built for a few red tail boas. Delivered the cage and picked them up last night. Was told they came from a litter ( i know that isnt the correct word, feel free to correct me) last year. Handled daily. so far i have found them to be VERY docile. I know they are red tails (one male, one female) but i would love some input as far as anything more specific. Il take better pics tomorrow as i fed them a little while ago and dont want to disturb them for atleast 24 hours (pics below Cage i traded and the new red tails)

Re: First snakes, far from first reptiles

Great job and major kudos for your work with iguanas. It's really hard for me to tell anything about your boas, as the picture is small, but I can say that you've made a great choice in getting boas. They're the best

Comment

Welcome! Looks like you're handy at building cages. The care sheet is here: http://www.redtailboas.com/f110/down...ion-3-a-31312/