X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Vettestngry
    Newbie!
    • Jan 2016

Sought after genetics

I am new to breeding but not to owning red tail boas. I am looking into sought after genetics. I currently have a 2015 female ghost het for albino. I’m looking to go the moon glow direction. I would also like to experiment with some motley but have heard super motleys rarely live to adulthood. Is this an issue with 50% motley. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  • Richyboa72
    Snake Lover
    • Jul 2016

Sought after genetics

Most Super motleys are doomed and very rarely reach adulthood,
    As the Motley gene is a co dominant one , your snake can’t be het or (50% )for it ,it is a full motley,
    only recessive genes can be het for meaning you need both parents to be carying the recessive gene, ie albino to produce a visual
    Hope this helps
    Cheers Rich

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

• Vettestngry
      Newbie!
      • Jan 2016

Re: Sought after genetics

So if I get a Motley male, none of the offspring will be visual motley if the famale is not Motley?

Comment

• Richyboa72
        Snake Lover
        • Jul 2016

Sought after genetics

No motley is co dominant gene .
        so No matter what you breed it with you will get some visual motley babies

If it’s a jungle (co Dom)female you should get motley’s,jungle motleys as well as normals and jungle babies and if you bred with a hypo (co Dom)boa you will get some hypo, hypo motleys, motleys and some normals ,
        If your motley male is carrying the albino gene and so is the female , then you should get motleys, normals , albino and albino motleys and all the non albino babies will be 66% het for albino but if the female is visual albino then the babies will 100% het for albino

there is a good morph calculator on line , that will give you a rough percentage of what you should expect from a paring