This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fire???

Hi all. I'm gonna be using newspaper as a substarate for my new baby boa, and I noticed that the UTH under my 40 gal glass tank is getting the paper pretty warm and the glass under it is hot to the touch. I've never used newspaper before (I use reptile carpet for my ball python). Has anyone ever heard of newspaper catching on fire because of a UTH?
    Ted

Re:Fire???

First thing that comes to mind is this. Do you hae a reostat or a thermostat hooked up to you uth?

TAT 8)

Comment

No, it's just a standard repti-med (I think that's the name). No thermostat or anything.

Comment

You need to get a thermostat or a reostat or you will run the risk of getting the cage to hot and this will kill you boa. Trust me. Once you get a thermosatst or a reostat set it to the temp you wnat and you will be goood to go.

TAT 8)

Comment

I'll see if I can pick one up at petco. I'll just turn off the UTH for now. The 75 watt bulb keeps the tank plenty warm, I just need an alternative source of heat when I turn it off at night.

Comment

Hey Tofu,

First that heater should not get hot enough to start the paper of fire.. If it does, you have a faulty heater.. I agree with what Tat said, you should pick up a rheostat. If your are good with wiring, get a dimmer switch and hook it into the heaters wire. That would cost about 7 bucks.. If your not, get one from the local pet shop. I know PetCo here carries one from ZooMed. If you check they run them cheap on sale. It will control 2 plugs and its nothing more then a fancy dimmer switch, but its a cheap fix. BogAppleHerps carries much better ones, but you will pay for it..

Good Luck
            Steve

Comment

BTW.. The floor of the cage should get no hotter then 95 or so.. Don't let it get over 100 degrees..
              Steve

Comment