Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Purchasing] before buying questions

hey everyone.

im going to be checking out a boa in about two weeks that im planning on purchasing if all goes well. [she'll be my first boa! ]

i have been researching boas for a while and im not a complete noob lol. im just wondering if you guys can put in your two cents on what i should check and keep an eye out for to make sure she is healthy or even some questions to ask the owner.

thanks!
    savannah

Re: before buying questions

Look at the setup the owner is using. Does it have a solid top? Is there a thermometer and humidity guage in the cage? Is the cage being kept at the proper temp/humidity? What substrate are they using?

Then look at the snake, check the eyes for unshed eyecaps, also check the tip of the tail. Is there mucus coming out of the nose, is the snake hissing when it breathes? How does the snake move? It should be fluid and when it wraps around you it should have a strong grip. If the snake is herky jerky or weak you might want to look elsewhere. Is the body close to a square shape and muscular, round and fat, or skinny and emaciated. Ask the owner if he has been feeding F/T or live, and what he's been using for food. Also ask how often he's been feeding the snake.

If all that checks out, you should have a happy healthy snake that will adjust well when you bring it home. I'm sure other people will think of some things I missed but those are the things I look for when I have the chance to look at the snake in person before buying it.
    http://www.iherp.com/topshelfmorphs

http://www.facebook.com/boidsohio

Comment

where are you getting him from?

Comment

im getting her from a private owner. she's owned her since she as 6 months old. she's now 3 1/2 and 5-5 1/2 ft long.

from the questions ive asked she's being kept in a 48 gallon bow front tank at 85F. Im not sure about humidity and substrate.