Just got my first boa

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Housing] Just got my first boa

Ok so im new to boas and i need all the info i can get ive done some research and all the questions that i asked led me to this website so i joined... I work at an emergency vet hospital (dogs and cats with the occasional guinea pig)and during my shift some special person dropped off a 6ft red tail boa in a pillow case. I love snakes so i took it home, he/ she seems skinny it has fold on its belly and if there anything like ball pythons that means there malnourished right? It also seems very aggressive which is why i think they dropped it off, it strikes at any movement. It also is shedding but its blotches here and there which means to low of humidity right? Its also got this redish pink tint to the sides of its belly and face. Over all it seems pretty healthy no mucus in the mouth no breathing problems mite free. Here in town there isn't a whole lot of help with how to raise a boa i dont even think they sell them at the local pet stores so my questions are as follows. And as vets go the closest one is about an hour and a half away and yes if any health problems happen ill gladly make the trip..

How big of a tank should i get?

How often do they eat and what size meal? I have a colony of mice for my ball pythons but i don't think there gonna cut it.

How often should they shed?

Its measures six ft from tip to tail how thick or fat should it be?

Humidity and temp?

Like i said i have two ball pythons that ive had for four years but this guy is nothing like my little guys. But i know the basics for snake husbandry. Any and all information is welcome especially little tricks to make it more friendly lol.
    You can also email me anytime at [email protected]

Re: Just got my first boa