No announcement yet.

Considering this rack, will it work?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Housing] Considering this rack, will it work?

I'm looking at this 34qt 1926 4 high rack system for my snakes. I would be using flexxwatt with ranco t-stats.

My question is about the flexwatt since i've never used it before. with the dimensions of the tubs being 38" x 16" x 27" I could easily fit 2' of flexwatt per tub. Either use one 2' strip or cut it and run 2 pieces side by side. I don't have a snake room so the ambient temps of the room will be about 70f. Will 2' of flexwatt be enough to keep ambient temps up in the tubs? if not i'll be going back to my original plan getting enclosures, they are just so darn expensive.

My Columbian boa is a little over 3' now so she will outgrow the rack and need an enclosure regardless. I also have a neonate rainbow boa, juvenile 50/50 desert phase cali king and the g/f has 2 ball pythons she houses together.

Do you guys think this rack system will work?

Re: Considering this rack, will it work?

I don't use this brand of rack or know anyone who does, but it appears from the site that they suggest running 3 feet of 11" flexwatt down the back side for back heat. You could probably use belly heat, may or may not have to modify rack. Modification maybe as slight as drilling a few holes in the back. If you do want to use belly heat then 1' of 11" would be plenty since it would cover 1/3 of the floor, 2 feet per shelf would be too much and there wouldn't be a useful temp gradient that your boas will need. You would place the flexwatt about 2" away from the back wall. Some people would probably suggest using a couple strips of 4" flexwatt, again covering about 1/4 to 1/3 of the bottom. I know The Boaphile doesn't use 11" on his cages. I believe he uses a custom made 4" size, but I am not for sure. Maybe some others will chime in.