This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hand Feeding!!

I always here about people saying not to hand feed your snakes cause they might think your hand is food or whatever. I have been fedding my fullgrown corn since i got her12 years ago and i have never had a problem, and my year old corn since i got him.

I would just like to hear your opinions on this topic, cause for me, handfeeding has had no problems, i have never been bit from either of my corns, and it is amazing how good of a shot my adult is.

What do you all think?

Re: Hand Feeding!!

???

not me I wouldn't hand feed

Comment

actually I'd like to do it however i don't think i will call me a biget but a corn snake i would but a full grown (8ft) red tailed boa i don't think I'd want him to miss and mistake my hand and have my arm as a struggling rat..ooohhhh that could get messy in my house>

Comment

yea you got a point there

Comment

Let's say, no one's out there hand feeding these babes in the wild, so they can just keep on getting naturally. . . I think too that maybe if you hand feed, they may come to associate your hand w/food! While, I know not everyone agrees on that whole "opening the cage door means time to eat" a lot of people feel that way. . . I agree w/this. I feed mine outta cage, in a box, bucket, whatever, w/tongs:}
          Tara

Comment

All the thing's that you see on the care guides are just the best way to do different thing's...(according to lot's of people...)
            Like the other person said that a corn snake full grown can do just about nothing to you... That fact is that your hand is a lot bigger then the food item... At the very least the same size..
            But when you are feeding rabit's it can get a lil' scary...
            you see a full grown corn snake will see your hand and say I can't eat that... But a full grown boa will see your hand and say well that is not that big... I could swollow that...
            Well that is my .02