how long to remove babies after birth

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Misc] how long to remove babies after birth

So the title really explains it all but a friend of mine and I have different opinions in this and I would like to hear what works for everyone else who has bred before. This is my first year as well as his. When you are sure that the female is done giving birth how long do you leave the babies in with her before pulling them out? and why? Thanks for any input i get!

Re: how long to remove babies after birth

I pull them as soon as I can and get the mom into a clean bath. All the babies go into another clean tub with clean water and stay together until the shed (about 7 days). This way I can clean the enclosure and get mom cleaned up and fed.

Tim

http://www.facebook.com/BoidsOhio?bookmark_t=page

Comment

Originally posted by tsblair View Post
      I pull them as soon as I can and get the mom into a clean bath. All the babies go into another clean tub with clean water and stay together until the shed (about 7 days). This way I can clean the enclosure and get mom cleaned up and fed.
      any pros or cons to leaving them in with mom for any extended period of time but still pulling them before their first shed?

Comment

Trying to get them away from mom is tough enough as it is when they are a bunched together and mom may crush em if they are left in with her
        Last edited by tsblair; 03-15-2015, 09:12 AM.

Tim

http://www.facebook.com/BoidsOhio?bookmark_t=page

Comment

Any other opinions out there?

Comment

I pull the mother out immediately because she is hungry and wants to eat. Also, I want to see the babies.

Star

Intelligence is not how much you know, but knowing how to put the knowledge you have to use!

Comment

Originally posted by weird_science04 View Post
              I pull the mother out immediately because she is hungry and wants to eat. Also, I want to see the babies.

Star