No announcement yet.

48"L x 24"W x 16"H - Options?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Purchasing] 48"L x 24"W x 16"H - Options?

I have a store nearby that makes PVC enclosures and I'm looking to pick one up. Here's the options on their site http://www.pvccages.ca/products and I figured an appropriate choice would be the 48"L x 24"W x 16"H (SC482416) model. I'm new to boas but I understand what most of them need besides the type of enclosure they'd need when "full grown". I've heard that my options for this type of enclosure are: Dumeril's/Hog Island/Crawl Cay (Male/Female) and I've heard that you could put a Red-Tail boa in there as long as it's male, which is the biggest one I need to fact-check. I'm not trying to cram a species into an enclosure that's unsuitable for it but Red-Tails seem to be the easiest one to come by. Thanks for any help

Re: 48"L x 24"W x 16"H - Options?

That's an excellent size for a full-grown boa, unless it's abnormally large.
    sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by natieb View Post
      That's an excellent size for a full-grown boa, unless it's abnormally large.
      I was looking at an anerythristic boa constrictor imperator, but I'm afraid that it might outgrow it's enclosure, I'm assuming if I wanted something like that I should get a male? But that's good to hear

Comment

I have not kept any boas yet, but from the theory I've seen, the ideal cage size for terrestrial snakes is SnakeSize <= (L+W)/(2/3)
        So that would mean a 4'x2' should be sufficient for a 9' snake. Females can get larger than this so you may have to upgrade in size or add a shelf so it can stretch out.

This is just book theory I saw at one point and I cannot find a link. If someone wishes to correct me, please do.

Comment

Re: 48&quot;L x 24&quot;W x 16&quot;H - Options?