No announcement yet.

I'm new & need guidance :)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [General Care] I'm new & need guidance :)

Hello, I am new to redtailboas.com & would just like to say hello I am also a new mother to a hypo columbian red-tail boa named Iris. I have had her for 2 weeks and she is my first snake. So far so good... I do however have a couple of questions regarding lighting and heating. Seeing as its my 1st reptile (not really knowing what 2 expect) I am using a 40 gallon aquarium with a screen top as an enclosure for her. She is around 2ft right now & a little over a year old. For a thermostat I am currently using the Zilla 1000 watt temperature controller that's set to 93 degrees F. I have an under the tank heater plugged into it thats stuck outside of the tank on the bottom of it. As far as the thermostat probe I have it sunctioned to the side wall of the hot side of the tank inside of the substrate... before I moved it to that spot I had it suctioned to the bottom of the tank on the warm side, inside of the tank, underneath the substrate. I was wondering which spot would be best?! I also have a heat lamp with a 75 watt bulb in it placed on the warm side of tank. On the hot side I have a yellow Zoo Med digital thermometer with a probe suctioned to the side wall of the hot side just above the substrate. It reads 80-82 degrees F. I am wondering if this is an ok temperature? My boa usually burrows under the substrate on top of the heat mat in her hide, so I'm wondering if its too cold? The cool side usually stays around 74-75 degrees F. I mist twice daily with warm water for humidity and put a pillowcase on top of cool side screen top to help hold in heat & humidity. I'm in Houston, TX so it stays pretty humid here. If anyone can please give me some feed back or any tips you may have I would really appreciate it. I want to give my girl the best and most comfortable life possible. Thx so much & so glad to be a part of this community!