• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Housing] New to herpstat and housing question

So my red tail that I got a killer deal on is doing amazing
    I was lucky to have my fiancé get me a herpstat 4 for Christmas
    I'm new to using herpstat and asking for help
    Day time temp for my redtail and ball python I keep at 80 degrees spot test with the temp gun reveals the ground temp to be bout 82-84
    The herpstat prob is positioned on the side walls of the tanks
    At 11pm I set it to go to night temp which I set to 75 degrees
    At 8am the day temp comes on with a ramp up time of 2hours ending at 10am when day temp is maxed
    Wondering if these are the correct way for the herpstat
    Booth snakes move freely above and favor booth the cold and hot side of the tank equally
    Also for the redtail she is in a boaphile 421D right now about how long tell she could possibly need a new tank?
    She's approx 5-6 feet now

Re: New to herpstat and housing question

You may want to look into getting a minimum of 6'x2' cage soon. If you have the room an 8'x2' cage would be better. She is already approaching the max size you should be keeping in her current cage.

What are you using for heating? Heat tape? If you are using heat tape you should be measuring the tape, not the air. You don't want it to suddenly heat up to 110°F trying to warm up the air a couple extra degrees. Anything over 95°F surfaces is bad for your snakes as far as I know. If you are using a RHP, it sounds like you are measuring it properly, but that is a drastic heat difference. I have my night temp at 85°F with the heat probe halfway up the tank under the RHP free floating because he doesn't mess with it. That allows the cool side to get to 78°F at night. For the day temp I have it at 85.5 which during the warm part of the day the cool side is at 82-84°F depending on the room temp. With that current setup my hot spot is 89°F and his climbing branch directly under the RHP gets to 92°F.