im new to all this would like a little help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Temperature] im new to all this would like a little help

I am very new to all this i dont have a snake yet i am planning on getting a albino red tail boa some time in the near future i am trying to do all my research on them before i buy 1. i have a couple of questions if u dont mind. first off i am planning on making my own cage out of melamine a 6x2x2 just keep that in mind when aswering my question thank you.

1. what i have read is undertank heaters are a better way to go. how far should i cover the tank with these all the way half way?

2. during the day they should have 12 hours of light correct do i also use a heat light on the same side of the enclosure or do they not need a heat lamp if i have the heating pads under the tank?

3. should i just put a tube light in there for the day time cycle and leave the heating pads on?

4. also with the heating pads do i leave them on 24/7 ?

im sorry about all the questions i have read a lot about careing for this reptile but nothing really answered my questions to my satisfaction all other information would be much apprciated i want to learn as much as i can before i buy one so i dont risk the chance of killing my new addition

Re: im new to all this would like a little help

hey, welcome to the forum! if you haven't already, check out the ultimate care guide. there's a link to it on the left side of the page. this may clear things up a bit for you. as for your questions:

Originally posted by monster619 View Post
    1. what i have read is undertank heaters are a better way to go. how far should i cover the tank with these all the way half way?
    they are definitely the best way to go. flexwatt is most common, but some people also use the commercial kind, which are more expensive.