?? frozen rats ??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Frozen/Thawed] ?? frozen rats ??

i have decided to start feeding frozen rats....ive seen the debates that you guys have had on here so i dont even wanna go there....my questions are more to preparing and shelf life of the frozen prey im new to this type of feeding so any info will be helpful
    Last edited by weird_science04; 12-15-2010, 08:32 PM. Reason: Fixed title to say "frozen"

Re: ?? fronen rats ??

Originally posted by demon6 View Post
    i have decided to start feeding frozen rats....ive seen the debates that you guys have had on here so i dont even wanna go there....my questions are more to preparing and shelf life of the frozen prey im new to this type of feeding so any info will be helpful
    I thaw mine out in ziplock bags in luke warm water until soft and then give them a short heat up in warmer water. The rats stay dry in the bags. Shelf life though... I only buy for a month or two at a time. So they are never in the freezer too long.

Tim

http://www.facebook.com/BoidsOhio?bookmark_t=page

Comment

I buy no more that 6-8 weeks worth. If you vacuum seal each on individually, (which takes FOREVER)they'll last a long time.

-Sean in NoCal
      “Americanism means the virtues of courage, honor, justice, truth, sincerity, and hardihood – the virtues that made America.”
      -Teddy Roosevelt.

Comment

I do what Tim does to thaw out the rats. I order about 2 months worth of rats and mice. After that, I only feed if they don't have black bellies and I reorder more. Once I get the new order, I toss the other ones in the trash.

Star

Intelligence is not how much you know, but knowing how to put the knowledge you have to use!

Comment