This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help cageing

: hi i just whont to say hello to u all,i im new to thse web site! and i im geting 2 baby red tail boas soon,and i just got a big cage a 110 gl tank! and i was wording if any one can help me out with some info? i whont the cage to be as looking like in the wild! to make them fell at home more! any one got any info what shod i get for the cage and any pics might help????? plzz write back thanks :
    ::Reptileszoo::

Re:help cageing

Hello Reptilezoo,

Welcome to the forums..

Congrats on getting the new RTB soon.. As for housing them. You may want to consider moving out of glass aquariums to a wood or plastic type cage. Glass is real hard to keep the heat perfect and also very hard to control the humidity. Not to mention that size tank will not be able to house even one of those boas when they are full grown, and they grow fast..

As for ideas to make the tank as wild as possible. You may want to stick with the normal setups. The more things you have in there, the more thengs you will go nuts cleaning when the boas use the bathroom. To keep it natural as well as functional I would suggest you use Cyprus mulch or Bird and Reptile litte for the bedding. It looks real nice in the cages. Next you should have two hides, one for the cool side and one for the hot side, or two in the middle depending on what you want to do. You can use flower pots upside down with hols cut in the side and the top sealed, you can use those plant basket liners and set them up the same way as the pots. When the boas are small you can get the fake rock hides, or halfed hollowed wood etc.. You can even go to a craft store and get some fake plants. just check ever little part of them, make sure nothing sharp is poking up.. A nice climb stick that is secure works good as well...

Hope that helps
    Steve

Comment

hi thanks for wrteing back!