Melamine Cages or Buy PVC Cage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Melamine Cages or Buy PVC Cage

So I am in a bit of a pickle and I need someone else to help me decide what I should do.

A little about me. I am handy and have the means to make my own stuff. I do not want to start building cages and have 5 different materials or manufacturers of cages in my house. I plan to finish my basement with a full wood shop, a theater room, and a snake room in a few years. I will never move this stuff once its in place and I won't have trouble if I need to. I have Boamaster stuff now and I have been very happy with it. I LOVE the thermal properties of Melamine and do not mind the weight. I have no experience with PVC but I am open to something new. If I go PVC I will purchase because its easier than me building it.

Option #1

Go Boamaster at $140 for white melamine. This is what I have and I am happy with it EXCEPT the plywood front I do not find appealing. I have no litter dam, and its not a sliding door. But they are utilitarian and do a fine job at what they are designed for. These are also available in Black for a bit more.

Option # 2

PVC cage picked up at a show from Reptile Basics. Forgot the local p/up price but is was not much more than $200

Option # 3

Build my own Black Melamine cage with what feature I want, litter dam, sliding double door track, etc. Looking about $150 for a single and price goes down as I fabricate more.

I am really torn and have leaned strongly on all three over the last month. The hardest thing for me is that I do not want to buy 1, then build one, then get a boaphile fat staxx, then a monster cage, and so on. I want to standardize on one style, even if its my own design.

Re: Melamine Cages or Buy PVC Cage