Hello from Edmonton

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from Edmonton

Hello, just saying hey to everyone. We (my son and I - not so much my fiance) recently purchased a yearling captive bred Hog Island boa after doing some research and learning all boas don't necessarily get 10 ft long. Have had BP's, corns, kings, garters, etc. and have always wanted a Boa. Just a pet for now although that usually turns into at least one breeding attempt. Super cool, calm and gorgeous.
    I've read a few of the Vosjoli books and am really hoping to get a nice display going with this girl. I'm a hobbiest carpenter and have done some pretty cool room cages for Waterdragons, rack systems and stackable display cages that I built and sold for awhile.
    Right now she's in an Exxo terra with Flexwatt covering the whole bottom set at 80 F and a basking lamp on one side bringing a hot spot up to 95 F or so. She's on paper towel for substrate for a few weeks until she acclimates a bit. She was in a tub system at the breeders.
    I'm researching the Bio active soil that seems to be getting some good press these days. If anyone has any experience keeping big snakes with this type of system please share.
    Anyways, looking forward to talking with some of you.

Greg, Kole and Ghost

Re: Hello from Edmonton

Welcome here...sorry, I only just noticed your post. Congrats on your new boa...like you, I've kept many kinds of snakes over the years, with occasional breeding here & there. Always things to learn & enjoy!
    Lucky that you have the skills to build your own cages too, that's awesome. I have no experience with bio-active soil, maybe someone else has & will chime in? Sounds like a good topic for discussion...

I realize that you're in a much colder climate than most of us here in the US (& I'm in the south), so I assume that you're using "Flexwatt covering the whole bottom" to keep the temps up, but you might still