pink bellies?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• pink bellies?

I just read in the last topic that tofutedm posted that he knows his python is going to shed soon because the belly is pink. I have noticed this in the one I just got, but I havn't come across any info yet that says they turn pink before sheding. I just thought it was minor belly rot (which I havn't ever seen first hand), so decreased the humidity slightly. Then today I noticed the eyes were milky, so assumed it will shed soon, but as I have no experience with pythons, thought it was weird that only they eyes are milky. so, is this pinkness just their way of going into shed? I am very confused.

Crystal

Reink bellies?

Yes and Yes
    The more you get to know your snake, it's coloring and overall appearance the more you will see the subtle changes when shed time is coming. Some of the signs in addition to the milky eyes that you may or may not see on your snake: hazy appearance of the entire snake, a darkening of the coloring, dulling of pattern, and of course the pink belly that you had mentioned. Out of our nine snakes only one, our Ball Python, gets the pink belly during shed. We had a Rosy Boa in the past that that would turn a pastel pink on it's belly from nose to tail about two days after her eyes hazed.

Hope that helped.

Comment

Reink bellies?

I am completly relieved then. It is not belly rot, yay! Ya, I had thought that all of it would be milky, but it's just the eyes, which threw me off, because my corn goes completly blue prior to shed. Thanks, Stormyva

Comment

Reink bellies?

Spots belly always turns pink about a week and a half before it's time to shed, the he'll spend most of his time in his hide. This worried me at first. I thought maybe he was sick. But then after the shed he's as perky as ever. Like stormyva said, it's just another one of those subtle changes.
        Ted

Comment

Reink bellies?