This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trouble in monitor town

Hey there, currently I own two savannah monitors, Felix and Oscar, I have noticed that Felix will not eat any crickets. Right now I have them in a 20 Gal Long tank and temps range from 100-105 on the hot side, to about 85 on the cool side, they have sand for substrate, several hiding spots and good basking spots that can get from 115-120 degrees or possibly hotter. Was wondering whats up with Felix possibly, his nostrals are clear but i have been guessing its RI (respitory infection) was wondering if anyone had any tips on what to do for these guys, thanks.

Vert

Re:Trouble in monitor town

Hello Veritas,

Welcome to the forums..

I am not a monitor expert by any means, but I do deal with them from time to time with my rescue.. First, let me suggest you get rid of the sand bedding, switch to newsprint for awhile. I never was a big fan of sand for young lizzards. it can impact their intestins and clog their nostrils.. While you are changing the bedding, soak the Sav is luke warm water. Only enough that it covers 1/3 to 1/2 of their body, not deep enough where they have to swim. Soak them for about 25 mins. Make sure the top of the soak tank is mostly covered to build humidity..

Return the savs in their tank and offer food. I will also lower that temp some. 115 is abit too high even for a basking spot.

One problem besides the temp, humidity and sand that could bge causing your problem, is you may have two males and one is dominating over the other one. You may need to split them up..

Hope this helped a bit..

Keep us posted how things work out..

Steve

Comment